I am currently on day 5 of my chronological Bible expedition and obviously it starts in Genesis.  Now, let me just say that I foolishly never really feared God. I kind of saw Him as forgiving because of Jesus and ignored everything else (not exactly sure what “everything else” is yet).  However, reading the first 10 chapters or so of Genesis has been quite frightening- more specifically, when God decides He can’t stand humans anymore (with the exception of Noah and his family) so he wipes them all out!  I did not grasp that before.  Wow, I mean, nothing puts the fear of God in you like a good kill-all-humans-and-living-creatures-story.  Possibly the best part is what God promises afterwards:

“I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will

be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth.

Genesis 9:13

God promised to never kill off the whole world like this ever again.  THIS, is awesome news!  And quite a nice balance of fear and love.  I am so excited to start fearing God.  That is kind of an odd statement, but it isn’t at the same time because Proverbs 31:30 says, “charm i deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised” AND Psalm 112:1 says, “Praise the Lord. Blessed is the man who fears the Lord, who finds great delight in his commands.

I have a feeling that throughout the rest of the Old Testament especially I will see more of this theme of fearing God.  It’ll be great!

On another note, there is a guy in the Bible named Nimrod and it got me thinking- isn’t that a word used now to describe someone who is “being an idiot”?  I wonder what Nimrod did to make it so that his name became the title of such character?  I did look it up and this is what dictionary.com says,

“‘Nimrod: “great hunter,” 1712, in ref. to the biblical son of Cush, referred to (Gen. x.8-9) as “a mighty hunter before the Lord.” It came to mean “geek, klutz” by 1983 in teenager slang, for unknown reasons. (Amateur theories include its occasional use in “Bugs Bunny” cartoon episodes featuring rabbit-hunting'”

Weird, but I guess I’ll go with it.

Peace for now friends–Kayla

