Reading through parts of the Bible that I have never read before has been exciting and empowering.  There is a man in the book of Job (almost finished with it by the way; it’s been a couple of weeks) and he goes by the name of Elihu.  Right away he is described as being young, and so while all of Job’s friends try to help him (hint: they’re not much help) he patiently waits for his turn to speak.  Job 32:6-8 says this,

“So Elihu son of Barakel the Buzite said: ‘ I am young in years, and you are old; that is why I was fearful, not daring to tell you what I know.  I thought, ‘Age should speak; advanced years should teach wisdom.’  But it is the spirit in a man, the breath of the Almighty, that gives him understanding.'”

Elihu continued on telling Job and his friends that God might not necessarily be punishing Job, but rather teaching Job something in a way unique to him.  I just think that is incredibly cool that God used Elihu to have something so much wiser to say than any of the older people did, especially in such tragic matters.  All the time in society we see that the ‘elders’ have taken positions of authority and leadership because it is assumed that they are wisest.  Even in looking at the role of President in our country there is a specific age in which someone is eligible to run for President.  Older doesn’t necessarily mean wiser.  It is something that God shows us in the Bible over and over again.  It gives me hope because there are many times throughout the day where I feel inadequate because I am young, but I know that it is no excuse if the “spirit and breath of the Almighty” is in me (and it should give you hope too!)

This past year God has constantly been putting me into positions and opportunities of leadership.  It’s kind of strange actually because I never really considered myself too much of a leader.  I am content with letting others take the spot-light and just follow when need be.  But, God has clearly been telling me to learn to be a leader through many things: youth group last year where I was given the opportunity to plan a youth event, applying to be an RA in my dorm next year, (attempting) to lead a small group at school, apparently being heading the Spanish Club at school- insane, right??  All of these things I never would have chosen myself for, but that’s kind of a fun thing about God is that you never can know what He has in his perfect plan.  I am not saying I am any good at these things or know at all what I am doing, but I’m learning and I can be at ease because I know God is guiding me through it all.

My question for you all to consider (and share if you like!) is: How has God been empowering you lately?

P.S. If you have never heard of the book Do Hard Things or the organization behind it, I highly recommend checking out this website: http://www.therebelution.com/about/  it is a “rebelution” against the low expectations of young people that was started by two brothers who want to live their lives for Christ.  Seriously, it’s great!

