So it has been a while, hasn’t it?  BUT, I am indeed still here- and still learning.  I’ve recently been reading passages from Genesis 16 to 25 and I’ll be honest, I don’t completely get it all.  For those of you unfamiliar with the content of these chapters I will briefly outline the events:

We are introduced to Hagar and Ishmael, Abram has a covenant of circumcision with God and God promises Abram (now Abraham) and Sarai (now Sarah) a baby in their old age, God destroys Sodom and Gomorrah, Lot’s wife is turned into a pillar of salt, Isaac is born, Abraham is tested, Sarah dies, Isaac marries Rebekah, and much more in between all of that. [again, a very brief outline]

In all of the history and characters in these stories, I admit that I am baffled, scared, confused, or just don’t see the significance in some of it.  But, my truly faithful God has taught me something from all of it- that He is very present in our lives.  In everything that happened in these chapters of Genesis there doesn’t seem to be one chapter where God isn’t doing something.  He is constantly healing, promising, loving, blessing, caring, fixing, directing, and interested in the lives of each person.  Granted, there are things God does that seem to be in contrast to those things like destroying entire cities [Sodom and Gomorrah] and testing [Abraham], but even through those things there is a purpose and care for Earth and Creation- even though it doesn’t seem obvious or fair.  I know there are many doubts and questions people have with the topic of God killing people and topics along those lines and I would encourage them to dig into the Bible, to ask those questions, and talk with someone who has intensely studied the Bible.  I won’t pretend to have all the answers or to ignore important issues such as those, but when it comes to doubts or concerns I look back at all I have learned about God and remember who He is: empowering, cool, holy, bold, worthy of being feared, in love with me (and you!).

Kayla

P.S. On another note, on the left side of my blog there is a category labeled “Articles and Blogs”-  that is where I post blogs I enjoy reading and think you all might enjoy as well and articles I have come across that I think need more public awareness.  Please take a gander there from time to time!

