Today I had the pleasure of reading part of the story of Moses (Exodus 1:1-4:17).  Although it’s not the same as the Disney movie “Prince of Egypt”, it is in many ways even better.  Through this historical account of Moses I can see so much of how God cares for us because He prepares us for circumstances we are to encounter in this life.  It reminds me of a quote that I heard one time: “God qualifies the called.”  In Moses’ case, he was called to lead the Israelites out of Egypt.

I think it’s kind of funny how a lot of times in Bible stories some of the most important things are left out when they are retold- especially when they are told to children.  I remember being told this story when I was a kid and I don’t remember Moses being so afraid- but he was, and who wouldn’t be?  Moses revealed to God all of his doubts, fears, and objections of the situation.  God listened to Moses, cared for him, and prepared him for what He was calling him to do.  Exodus 4:11 says this, “The Lord said to him, ‘Who gave man this mouth?  Who makes him deaf or mute?  Who gives him sight or makes him blind?  Is it not I, the Lord?  Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.'”

I know for me, it is so comforting to know that God doesn’t brush off my concerns and doubts about something, but He really does care how I feel.  No matter what the situation is, I know that He is preparing me.  I can’t help but think of God as the Potter or God as our Shepherd- constantly tending to His creation, molding it, protecting it, loving it us.  When I remember this my heart overflows with gladness and thankfulness- and I think that is truly what God wants for us.

