There are so many ways I could begin this post.  I think first and foremost I need to say that this is probably the most important post I have written as of yet (talk about confidence, Kayla…).  But, it’s not important because I wrote it, but because of its content.

Last Wednesday the chapel here at Roberts was an all music chapel.  During some of the songs I flipped through my Bible and turned to Isaiah 53- a chapter which reminds us of Jesus’ death on the cross.  Usually I read that verse and stop at the end, but this time I kept going; and I’m so glad I did.  Isaiah 54 is about the future glory of Zion, our future glory.  God tells us of His anger, but then everlasting kindness, of His abandonment, but then His compassion.  This didn’t strike me as anything unusual; in fact, I always pictured God as temperamental and hard to please.  That is until verse 9 when God says:

“To me this is like the days of Noah, when I swore that the waters of Noah would never again cover the earth.  So now I have sworn not to be angry with you, never to rebuke you again.  Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed.” (emphasis added)

Please go back and read that again, I know I read it quite a few times before it sunk in.  God promises not to be angry with me…ever…what?  But it goes further in saying that nothing can shake his unfailing love for me.  I mean I know it sounds redundant – unfailing love that never fails…but clearly in my case it needed to be clarified since it’s taken me this long to get it.

So this shocked me, but it doesn’t stop there.  In the rest of the chapter God tells us of an afflicted city that He builds up with beautiful stones and gems.  I mean, I’ve never been to seminary school or anything but I’m pretty sure He is describing us too.  He is going to build us up in righteousness, love, and the most precious of ways!  I don’t know about everyone else, but that gives me such a boost in confidence when I am living every day life.  Knowing that God is building me up and giving me His best- the best- is incredible!  I think if there were ever an appropriate time for a face-palm, it would be now.  How long have I been carrying around this Bible (not to mention this burden of thinking God was mad at me), and I had the Truth with me the whole time.  Also, because I’ve had this quote on a sticky-note on my desk for months now: “Divine power is not a ruling fist but an open, bleeding hand.” (Michael Lodahl).  I’ve always liked it, but now it means so much more.  Sometimes I am slow with these things, but God’s grace always has a way of finding me and taking hold of me.

